Jul 27

Daniel Ricciardo wins the Hungarian Grand Prix

Hungary GP Podium

Red Bull’s Australian new star Daniel Ricciardo wins his second Grand Prix in an exciting finish to a suspenseful Hungarian Grand Prix. Starting from fourth, a consistent drive, good strategy, and good overtaking skills earned him the top spot of the podium this afternoon.

Close behind was Fernando Alonso, who drove a very clean and smart race. Ferrari managed a strategy which placed him ahead of Nico Rosberg, who missed out on the podium to his team mate Hamilton, starting from the pitlane and driving a recovery race throughout. Read the rest of this entry »

Jul 27

Nico Rosberg takes pole at the Hungaroring

Nico Rosberg took pole at the Hungarian Grand Prix as Lewis Hamilton was beset with yet another problem in qualifying. His Mercedes caught fire because of a fuel leak at the exit of the pitlane during Q1 which meant he failed to set a time. With a new gearbox, engine and chassis for tomorrow’s race, the question on peoples’ minds will be whether he chooses to start from the pitlane, instead of in 21st place. Read the rest of this entry »

Jul 25

Hamilton leads the pack at Hungary, FP2

Another session with Lewis Hamilton clocking the fastest time in Hungary, followed by Rosberg. The Mercedes duo stayed comfortably ahead of the pack. The best of the rest was Sebastian Vettel this time around, beating Fernando Alonso by three tenths of a second.

Mercedes called in to Rosberg during the session, warning him about engine damage that might be caused by using too low of a gear into turn 1.

Kevin Magnussen was fifth for McLaren, showing good pace, while his team mate Jenson Button only managed to match his place from the morning session at ninth, complaining about the braking performance of his car.


Jul 25

Hungary, FP1 – Hamilton on top

After his less than satisfying German weekend, Lewis Hamilton got on his Mercedes to get things done, and started out by topping the Friday morning practice session two tenths clear off his team mate Nico Rosberg.

Ferrari was on form closely behind, with Raikkonen being a little faster than Alonso this session around.

Sebastian Vettel managed the fifth fastest time but complained about his Renault power unit, seemingly low on power.

McLaren seem to be back in the game, coming up in the ranks after a disappointing first half of the season, despite having the best power unit in the field. Kevin Magnussen set the 6th fastest time, while Button took 9th.


Jul 20

Nico Rosberg wins the German Grand Prix

Image credit: www.twitter.com/MercedesAMGF1

Image credit: www.twitter.com/MercedesAMGF1

Nico Rosberg cruised to win his first ever German Grand Prix at Hockenheim in cooler conditions. The rain failed to materialise. Valtteri Bottas was second for Williams while Lewis Hamilton drove a storming race to come third from 20th place. The final few laps saw him tussle with Bottas for second place but extreme graining on his front left tyre meant that he could not mount a complete challenge to the Finn. This result means that Rosberg is 14 points clear of Hamilton.

Read the rest of this entry »

Jul 19

Nico Rosberg takes pole at the German Grand Prix

With Lewis Hamilton out of the way, this was Nico Rosberg’s pole to lose. He topped the timesheets on the red supersofts followed by the Williams cars. Valtteri Bottas finished Q1 in 4th place with only one run on the prime tyre. He finished second overall with Felipe Massa third.

Kevin Magnussen was a silver lining in the woes that continue to dog McLaren. He finished in 4th place.

The Red Bulls of Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel were 5th and 6th with Fernando Alonso 7th.  Read the rest of this entry »

Older posts «